My absolutely favorite piano player has got to be Brad Mehldau and not least when he plays with his trio. His rather “dry” approach to songs, an economic use of the sustain pedal and a lot of space between notes is something that struck me as weird when I first heard him but then became the thing that got me addicted to his sound. A clear and disciplined touch but every note oozes of meaning and soul. And beneath the it all something dangerous is brewing which breaks out now and again, twisted outside notes and random Morse code patterns. I saw them live for the first time a few months ago and it was an outworldly experience. Here’s a classic performance from 2008 of Arthur Hamilton’s Cry Me a River by the trio with a trademark improvised cadenza from Brad after the usual form of head-solos-head. Alright!

Kalli

